Groups & Ministries: Church Committees

Advancement Committee

The mission of the Advancement Committee is to recognize the strengths of Saint Matthias, develop varied means to reach out to the people whom we can best serve in order to grow and increase the diversity of our membership, and explore communication methodologies to expand the richness of the Saint Matthias experience for different demographics within our congregation. The current Advancement Committee members are Father Bill Garrison, Rev. Carole Horton-Howe, Mary Carillo (Chair), Chuck Carillo, Andrea Schmid, Tom Booth, John Maidlow, and Gigi Maidlow.

Father Kevin Taylor Facilities Fund Committee

The Father Kevin Taylor Facilities Fund was established in 2018 using a portion of the generous bequest left to Saint Matthias by Father Kevin Taylor. The purpose of the fund is to provide for the preservation and improvement of parish facilities. Funds have already been used to purchase new umbrellas for the Saint Francis Patio and new tables for Lewis Hall. Upcoming projects include repairing termite damage and resurfacing the parking lot.  Committee members are Tim Adams, Stan Jamieson, and Doug Overstreet.

Finance Committee

The Finance Committee comprises an important group of people who review the continuing financial condition of the parish and The Soup Hour, and work with the treasurer and the vestry to guide the church in sound financial practice. In recent months, the Finance Committee has been working diligently to make the financial statements more easily understood, and has set as a goal making it possible for every interested parishioner able to comprehend (and comment!) upon them. Complete understandability and transparency is the committee’s ultimate goal. The current Finance Committee members are Father Bill Garrison, Rev. Carol Horton-Howe, Parish Administrator Dottie Andersen, Stan Jamieson, Kathel Harris, Ellen Mykkanen, Tim Adams, and Kent Myers.

Futures Committee

The Futures Committee was formed to oversee an endowment fund called “Funds For the Future.” The committee meets quarterly to review the production of the fund, strategize ways to grow the fund further, and develop ways to fully educate the congregation on its purpose so that members can make sound decisions regarding contributions. Funds for the Future is an endowment being built primarily through legacies and memorials; its major purpose is to support ministries and major capital needs of Saint Matthias. The fund will never be used for general operating expenses. Similarly, the Futures Committee is regulated by very strict resolutions and bylaws, and is restricted from independently making distributions from the fund (the final say in making distributions is made by the Saint Matthias Vestry). The current Futures Committee members are Father Bill Garrison, Larry Christian (Chair), Stan Jamieson, Mike Taylor, and Doug Halliday.

Sanctuary Committee

The Sanctuary Committee was formed in 2012 to examine ways to improve the interior design of the sanctuary in order to make it a more welcoming space for visitors as well as parishioners. At its inception the Sanctuary Committee formulated a long list of items, many of which have been accomplished since then. The current Sanctuary Committee members are Father Bill Garrison, Stan Jamieson, John Maidlow, Ellen Mykkanen, Kevin McKelvie.